You are here

Federal Lands Access Program (FLAP)

The Federal Lands Access Program (Access Program) was established in 23 U.S.C. 204 to improve transportation facilities that provide access to, are adjacent to, or are located within Federal lands. The Access Program supplements State and local resources for public roads, transit systems, and other transportation facilities, with an emphasis on high-use recreation sites and economic generators.

The Program is designed to provide flexibility for a wide range of transportation projects in the 50 States, the District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

The Access Program is funded by contract authority from the Highway Trust Fund and subject to obligation limitation. Funds will be allocated among the States using a statutory formula based on road mileage, number of bridges, land area, and visitation.

Projects are selected by a Programming Decision Committee (PDC) established in each State. The PDCs request project applications through a call for projects. The frequency of the calls is established by the PDCs. The interactive map below provides the status of the call for projects.

FLAPS Accomplishment Reports Dashboard

Status of the Call for Projects

To learn more about the call for projects status, points of contact or to access a link to a State FLAP webpage, click on a state in the map below.

* Figures listed are annual allocation estimates per fiscal year and subject to availability of funds.

Open status icon Application Process Open
Closed status icon Application Process Closed
Development status icon Process in Development
Other status icon Other

To directly access a State FLAP webpage, click on any of the State names below:

Eastern Federal Lands

Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin

Central Federal Lands

Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wyoming

Western Federal Lands

Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington

Updated: Friday, June 30, 2023