USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation
FHWA Highway Safety Programs

Additional Resources & Partners



Pooled Fund Programs

Many roadside safety issues are common to more than one State, so there is efficiency and cost-effectiveness in pooling resources to address these issues.

  • Midwest Roadside Safety Facility (MwRSF): Established in 1991, the MwRSF Pooled Fund Program has 18 member states, including California, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
  • Roadside Safety Pooled Fund Program: This program has a total of 30 participating partners including 28 State DOTs, FHWA and TTI.