USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation
OFFICE OF RESEARCH, DEVELOPMENT, AND TECHNOLOGY AT THE TURNER-FAIRBANK HIGHWAY RESEARCH CENTER

Expertise Directory Search

The expertise of our scientists, engineers, and support staff encompasses more than 100 transportation-related disciplines and expertise areas. The following expertise areas and contacts can be found at the Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center (TFHRC), and offices housed at the research and development facility: the Office of Infrastructure Research and Development, the Office of Operations Research and Development, the Office of Safety Research and Development, and the Office of Corporate Research, Development, and Innovation Management, which supports all three research offices and manages the Exploratory Advanced Research Program. The 16 laboratories and data centers at TFHRC provide a vital resource for advancing the body of knowledge that has been created and developed to solve national transportation goals.

If you can’t find your research contact below, try the Roles and Responsibilities search .

If you would like to see how our organization is structured, try the Staff Directory.

All media inquiries and interview requests should be directed to the Office of Public Affairs at 202-366-0660.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 201
List of FHWA Contacts
Area of Expertise First Name Last Name Email Telephone Office
Accelerated Construction Research and Development Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
Accelerated Construction Research and Development Katherine A Petros katherine.petros@dot.gov (202) 493-3154 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team
Accelerated Pavement Testing Research and Development Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
Active Traffic Management and Traffic Management Centers Brian Philips brian.philips@dot.gov (202) 493-3468 Human Factors Team
Active Transportation and Demand Management Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Adaptive Signal Control Research Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Administration of Federal Highway Administration State Planning and Research, Part II Patricia Sergeson patricia.sergeson@dot.gov (202) 493-3166 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Administration of Federal Highway Administration State Planning and Research, Part II Vacant Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Advanced Sensor and Communications Technologies Gregory W (Greg) Davis gregory.davis@dot.gov (202) 493-3367 Roadway Team
Advanced Vehicle Control Systems Sudhakar Nallamothu s.nallamothu@dot.gov (202) 493-3283 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Aggregates Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Research Advisory Committee (RAC) Craig Thor craig.thor@dot.gov (202) 493-3338 Program Management
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Research Advisory Committee (RAC) National Partnership Program Manager Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Research Advisory Committee (RAC) Vacant Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Standing Committee on Research (SCOR) National Partnership Program Manager Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Standing Committee on Research (SCOR) Vacant Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Arterial Management Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Arterial Simulation Gene M McHale gene.mchale@dot.gov (202) 493-3275 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Artificial Intelligence Applications in ITS Vacant Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Artificial Intelligence Applications in ITS Sudhakar Nallamothu s.nallamothu@dot.gov (202) 493-3283 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Asphalt Chemistry Research and Development Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
Asphalt Chemistry Research and Development Terry Arnold terry.arnold@dot.gov (202) 493-3305 Infrastructure Materials Team
Asphalt Chemistry Research and Development John S (Jack) Youtcheff, Jr. jack.youtcheff@dot.gov (202) 493-3090 Infrastructure Materials Team
Asphalt Materials Research and Development Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
Asphalt Materials Research and Development John S (Jack) Youtcheff, Jr. jack.youtcheff@dot.gov (202) 493-3090 Infrastructure Materials Team
Automated Highway System Laura Mero Laura.Mero@dot.gov (202) 493-3377 Human Factors Team
Automated Highway System Carl K Andersen carl.andersen@dot.gov (202) 493-3045 Program Management
Bicycle Safety Research Ann Do ann.do@dot.gov (202) 493-3319 Human Factors Team
Big Data Analysis and Visualization Wei Zhang wei.zhang@dot.gov (202) 493-3317 Roadway Team
Bridge Engineering Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
Bridge Engineering Vacant Bridge Engineering Team
Bridge Scour Research and Development Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
Bridge Scour Research and Development Kornel Kerenyi kornel.kerenyi@dot.gov (202) 493-3142 Bridge Engineering Team
Chemistry Terry Arnold terry.arnold@dot.gov (202) 493-3305 Infrastructure Materials Team
Chemistry John S (Jack) Youtcheff, Jr. jack.youtcheff@dot.gov (202) 493-3090 Infrastructure Materials Team
Chemistry Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
Chemistry Jose Munoz Campos jose.munoz.campos@dot.gov (202) 493-3159 Infrastructure Materials Team
Chief Scientist: Research, Development, and Technology Craig Thor craig.thor@dot.gov (202) 493-3338 Program Management
Communications Research and Technology Daniel Shine daniel.shine@dot.gov (202) 493-3375 Marketing and Communications Team
Communications Research and Technology Edna (Trisha) Dumas edna.dumas@dot.gov (202) 493-3220 Marketing and Communications Team
Communications Research and Technology Vacant Program Management
Communications Research and Technology Darlene Brown darlene.brown@dot.gov (202) 493-3503 Marketing and Communications Team
Concrete Bridge Research and Development Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
Concrete Materials Research and Development Michelle Cooper michelle.cooper@dot.gov Infrastructure Materials Team
Concrete Materials Research and Development Jean Nehme, Ph.D., P.E. jean.nehme@dot.gov (202) 493-3042 Program Management
Connected Vehicle Safety Systems Sudhakar Nallamothu s.nallamothu@dot.gov (202) 493-3283 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Connected Vehicles Research and Development Jesse Eisert jesse.eisert@dot.gov (202) 493-3284 Human Factors Team
Connected Vehicles Research and Development Sudhakar Nallamothu s.nallamothu@dot.gov (202) 493-3283 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Connected Vehicles Research and Development Brian Philips brian.philips@dot.gov (202) 493-3468 Human Factors Team
Construction Quality Assurance/Quality Control Katherine A Petros katherine.petros@dot.gov (202) 493-3154 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team