Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on Coronavirus.gov. For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation
OFFICE OF RESEARCH, DEVELOPMENT, AND TECHNOLOGY AT THE TURNER-FAIRBANK HIGHWAY RESEARCH CENTER

Expertise Directory Search

The expertise of our scientists, engineers, and support staff encompasses more than 100 transportation-related disciplines and expertise areas. The following expertise areas and contacts can be found at the Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center (TFHRC), and offices housed at the research and development facility: the Office of Infrastructure Research and Development, the Office of Operations Research and Development, the Office of Safety Research and Development, and the Office of Corporate Research, Development, and Innovation Management, which supports all three research offices and manages the Exploratory Advanced Research Program. The 16 laboratories and data centers at TFHRC provide a vital resource for advancing the body of knowledge that has been created and developed to solve national transportation goals.

If you can’t find your research contact below, try the Roles and Responsibilities search .

If you would like to see how our organization is structured, try the Staff Directory.

All media inquiries and interview requests should be directed to the Office of Public Affairs at 202-366-0660.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 59
List of FHWA Contacts
Area of Expertise First Name Last Name Email Telephone Office
Accelerated Construction Research and Development,
Construction Quality Assurance/Quality Control,
Pavement Design and Analysis Research and Development,
Pavement Research and Development
Katherine A Petros katherine.petros@dot.gov (202) 493-3154 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team
Active Traffic Management and Traffic Management Centers,
Connected Vehicles Research and Development,
Driver Behavior and Decisionmaking,
Driver Distraction and Attention,
Human Factors Guidelines,
Vehicle-Infrastructure Automation Systems
Brian Philips brian.philips@dot.gov (202) 493-3468 Human Factors Team
Active Transportation and Demand Management,
Corridor Traffic Management,
Freeway Improvement Projects and Bottleneck Mitigation Strategies,
Freeway Traffic Management and Operations,
Integration of Connected Vehicles and Traveler Data,
Managed Lanes,
Ramp Metering,
Traffic Management Systems and Centers,
Transportation Systems Management and Operations Programs, Policies, and Plans,
Travel Management for Planned Special Events
Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Adaptive Signal Control Research,
Connected Vehicles Research and Development,
Planning for Operations
Govindarajan Vadakpat g.vadakpat@dot.gov (202) 493-3283 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Adaptive Signal Control Research,
Arterial Management,
Dynamic Ramp Metering,
Freeway and Traffic Signal Systems,
Freight Professional Development Research and Development,
Truck Size and Weight Freight Operations and Technology,
Work Zone Analysis Tools,
Work Zone Safety and Mobility Integrated Product Team,
Work Zones
Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Administration of Federal Highway Administration State Planning and Research, Part II,
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Research Advisory Committee (RAC),
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Standing Committee on Research (SCOR),
Intellectual Property Rights and Scientific Review,
National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP),
National Research and Technology Partnerships,
Research Advisory Committee (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)),
Research and Development Legislation,
Research and Technology Coordinating Committee,
Research and Technology Corporate Master Plan,
Research and Technology Program Coordination Title V,
State Planning and Research (SPR) Part II,
Transportation Pooled Fund Program Management,
Waiver of Matching for State Planning and Research (SP&R) Part II
Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Advanced Sensor and Communications Technologies,
Cooperative Intersection Collision Avoidance Systems,
Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Advanced Safety Research,
Intersection Collision Avoidance Research
Gregory W (Greg) Davis gregory.davis@dot.gov (202) 493-3367 Roadway Team
Aggregates Richard C (Rick) Meininger richard.meininger@dot.gov (202) 493-3191 Infrastructure Materials Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Research Advisory Committee (RAC),
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Standing Committee on Research (SCOR),
National Research and Technology Partnerships,
Research and Technology Coordinating Committee,
Research and Technology Corporate Master Plan,
University Transportation Centers (UTC) Liaison
Vacant Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Arterial Simulation,
Freight Performance Measurement,
Intelligent Vehicle-Infrastructure,
Real-time Transportation Information Management,
Systems Engineering Implementation,
Traffic Model Validation/Verification
Gene M McHale gene.mchale@dot.gov (202) 493-3275 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Artificial Intelligence Applications in ITS,
Dynamic Traffic Demand (O-D) Estimation,
Environmental Impact of Connected Vehicles,
Hardware-in-the-Loop Simulation for Connected Vehicle Studies,
Infrastructure-based Intersection Collision Avoidance Systems,
Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Work Zones,
Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices,
Traffic Management Center Automation and Artificial Intelligence Application
Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Asphalt Chemistry Research and Development,
Chemistry
Terry Arnold terry.arnold@dot.gov (202) 493-3305 Infrastructure Materials Team
Asphalt Chemistry Research and Development,
Asphalt Materials Research and Development,
Chemistry,
Recycling Materials for Pavements Research and Development
John S (Jack) Youtcheff, Jr. jack.youtcheff@dot.gov (202) 493-3090 Infrastructure Materials Team
Automated Highway System,
Human Factors Guidelines,
Traffic Management,
Traffic Signal Control Research
Laura Mero Laura.Mero@dot.gov (202) 493-3377 Human Factors Team
Automated Highway System,
Vehicle-Highway Automation Research and Development
Carl K Andersen carl.andersen@dot.gov (202) 493-3045 Technical Direction
Automated Highway System,
Cooperative Intersection Collision Avoidance Systems
Taylor Lochrane taylor.lochrane@dot.gov (202) 493-3293 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Bicycle Safety Research,
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Research and Development
Ann Do ann.do@dot.gov (202) 493-3319 Human Factors Team
Big Data Analysis and Visualization,
Innovative Intersection/Interchange Designs,
Intersection Safety Research
Wei Zhang wei.zhang@dot.gov (202) 493-3317 Roadway Team
Bridge Engineering,
Innovative Materials in Highway Bridge Systems,
Large-Scale Testing,
Structural Concrete,
Structures Laboratory
Zachary Haber zachary.haber@dot.gov (202) 493-3469 Bridge Engineering Team
Bridge Safety and Security Research and Development,
Bridge Scour Research and Development,
Chemistry,
Chief Scientist: Research, Development, and Technology
Jack Noone jnoone@example.com (212) 585-4875 Hydraulics and Geotechnical Engineering Team
Bridge Scour Research and Development,
Culvert Research and Development,
Hydraulics Research and Development,
Hydrodynamics Research and Development,
Scour Research and Development
Kornel Kerenyi kornel.kerenyi@dot.gov (202) 493-3142 Bridge Engineering Team
Chemistry Nusnin Akter nusnin.akter@dot.gov Infrastructure Materials Team
Chief Scientist: Research, Development, and Technology,
Nanotechnology
Vacant Program Management
Communications Research and Technology Shana Baker shana.baker@dot.gov (202) 493-3181 Program Management
Communications Research and Technology,
Federal Highway Administration R&T Now Newsletter
Kelley Elliott kelley.elliott@dot.gov (202) 493-3220 Marketing and Communications Team
Communications Research and Technology,
Public Roads
Lisa A. Shuler lisa.a.shuler@dot.gov (202) 493-3375 Marketing and Communications Team
Concrete Materials Research and Development,
Congestion Management and Pricing
John Doe jdoe@nowhere.com (703) 555-1212 Office of Program Development
Concrete Materials Research and Development,
Durability of Cement-based materials
Robert Spragg robert.spragg@dot.gov (202) 493-3233 Infrastructure Materials Team
Connected Vehicles Research and Development,
Driver Behavior and Decisionmaking,
Driver Distraction and Attention
Jesse Eisert jesse.eisert@dot.gov (202) 493-3284 Human Factors Team
Connected Vehicles Research and Development Mohamadreza Banihashemi mohamadreza.banihashemi.CTR@dot.gov (202) 493-3334 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Crash Data Analysis,
Highway Safety Information System,
HSIS (Highway Safety Information System)
Ana Eigen ana.eigen@dot.gov (202) 493-3260 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Crash Data Analysis,
Evaluation of Low Cost Safety Improvements
Roya Amjadi roya.amjadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3383 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Data Analysis Research and Development,
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Coordination,
Highway Safety Information System,
HSIS (Highway Safety Information System),
Model Minimum Inventory of Roadway Elements (MMIRE),
Motorcycle Crash Causation Study,
Safety Management Research,
Wildlife Vehicle Crashes
Carol H Tan carol.tan@dot.gov (202) 493-3315 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Dynamic Traffic Assignment,
Freight Professional Development,
Localized Bottleneck Reduction,
Operations Research and Development Technology Facilitation,
Saxton Transportation Operations Laboratory (TOL),
Traffic Estimation and Prediction System,
Traffic Flow Theory,
Traffic Signal Control Research
Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Exhibits Research and Technology,
Research and Technology Product Distribution Center (Report Center),
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center Facility Tours
TaMara McCrae tamara.mccrae@dot.gov (202) 493-3382 Marketing and Communications Team
Exploratory Advanced Research,
University Transportation Centers (UTC) Liaison
David Kuehn david.kuehn@dot.gov (202) 493-3414 Exploratory Advanced Research Team
Exploratory Advanced Research information collection and surveys,
Exploratory Advanced Research Marketing and Communications
Vacant Exploratory Advanced Research Team
Federal Highway Administration Research Library,
FHWA Research Library,
Publishing Copyrights and Reprint Permissions (Research, Development, and Technology),
Web site (Research and Technology; Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center; Exploratory Advanced Research, SharePoint)
Dawn Vanlandingham dawn.vanlandingham@dot.gov (202) 493-3198 Marketing and Communications Team
Federal Outdoor Impact Laboratory (FOIL) Eduardo Arispe eduardo.arispe@dot.gov (202) 493-3291 Roadway Team
Geosynthetic Reinforced Soil (GRS) Structures Research and Development,
Geotechnical Engineering Research and Development,
Shallow Foundation Research and Development
Michael Adams mike.adams@dot.gov (202) 493-3025 Infrastructure Materials Team
Geotechnical Engineering Research and Development Jennifer E Nicks jennifer.nicks@dot.gov (202) 493-3075 Bridge Engineering Team
Highway Safety Manual,
Roadway Design Safety Research,
Safety Data and Analysis
In-Kyu Lim in-kyu.lim@dot.gov (202) 493-3132 Roadway Team
Highway Safety Manual,
Interactive Highway Safety Design Model Research and Development (IHSDM),
Roadway Design Safety Research,
Safety and Operational Effects of Geometrics
Shyuan-Ren (Clayton) Chen clayton.chen@dot.gov (202) 493-3054 Roadway Team
Intellectual Property Rights and Scientific Review,
Technology Transfer
Mary Huie mary.huie@dot.gov (202) 493-3460 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Standards Deployment Vacant Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Long-Term Bridge Performance Program (LTBP) Robert Zobel robert.zobel@dot.gov (202) 493-3024 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) Data Analysis,
Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) Profile Data Collection,
Pavement Smoothness and Texture Research and Development,
Pavement Surface Characteristics
Larry J Wiser larry.wiser@dot.gov (202) 493-3079 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance Program (LTPP) Database,
Long-Term Pavement Performance Program (LTPP) Information Management System (IMS)
Yan (Jane) Jiang jane.jiang@dot.gov (202) 493-3149 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance Program (LTPP) Traffic data collection and Processing,
Traffic Data Collection Research and Development,
Vehicle Classification,
Weigh in Motion (WIM), Measurements and Equipment Research and Development
Deborah M Walker deborah.walker@dot.gov (202) 493-3068 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP) Jean Landolt jean.landolt@dot.gov (202) 493-3146 Program Management