USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Long-Term Pavement Performance Collection Process

Data collection and management are core functions of the Federal Highway Administration's Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) Program. They are also a shared function between LTPP and the States and Provinces. LTPP maintained four regional offices—North Atlantic, North Central, Southern, and Western—to coordinate these activities. LTPP still maintains these four regions, but data collection is now being conducted by a single contractor. For information on LTPP data collection including test sections, monitoring schedules, and contact information, please go to

"The map shows the four regions for LTPP data collection. The Western region includes Alaska, Hawaii, California, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Nevada, Arizona, Colorado, Utah, Montana, Wyoming, and the provinces of British Columbia and Alberta. The North Central Region includes North and South Dakota, Kansas, Nebraska, Missouri, Iowa, Minnesota, Illinois, Wisconsin, Kentucky, Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, and the provinces of Saskatchewan and Manitoba. The North Atlantic Region includes North Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, West Virginia, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, Massachusetts, Vermont, Maine, New Hampshire, and the provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The Southern region includes New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, and Puerto Rico."
Figure 1. The four regions of LTPP Data Collection.