You are here

Expertise Directory Search

The expertise of our scientists, engineers, and support staff encompasses more than 100 transportation-related disciplines and expertise areas. The following expertise areas and contacts can be found at the Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center (TFHRC), and offices housed at the research and development facility: the Office of Infrastructure Research and Development, the Office of Operations Research and Development, the Office of Safety Research and Development, and the Office of Corporate Research, Development, and Innovation Management, which supports all three research offices and manages the Exploratory Advanced Research Program. The 20 laboratories and data centers at TFHRC provide a vital resource for advancing the body of knowledge that has been created and developed to solve national transportation goals. If you can’t find your research contact below, try the Roles and Responsibilities search. If you would like to see how our organization is structured, try the Staff Directory.

All media inquiries and interview requests should be directed to the Office of Public Affairs at 202-366-0660.

Export to Excel
Area of Expertise First Name Last Name Email Telephone Office
Research and Technology Program Coordination Title V Craig Thor craig.thor@dot.gov (202) 493-3338 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Research and Technology Program Coordination Title V Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Resistivity and Formation Factor Testing Robert Spragg robert.spragg@dot.gov (202) 493-3233 Bridge Engineering Team
Roadway Design Safety Research Shyuan-Ren (Clayton) Chen clayton.chen@dot.gov (202) 493-3054 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Safety and Operational Effects of Geometrics Shyuan-Ren (Clayton) Chen clayton.chen@dot.gov (202) 493-3054 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Safety Data and Analysis Norah Ocel Norah.Ocel@dot.gov (443) 717-0891 Roadway Team
Safety Management Research Carol H Tan carol.tan@dot.gov (202) 493-3315 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Safety Research and Development Vacant Vacant Program Management
Safety Research and Development (R&D) Technology Facilitation/Transfer (T2) Lincoln Cobb lincoln.cobb@dot.gov (202) 493-3313 Technical Direction and Coordination
Saxton Transportation Operations Laboratory (TOL) Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Scientific Quality Assurance Management Joe Moyer joe.moyer@dot.gov (202) 493-3370 Program Management
Scour Research and Development Kornel Kerenyi kornel.kerenyi@dot.gov (202) 493-3142 Bridge Engineering Team
Shallow Foundation Research and Development Michael Adams mike.adams@dot.gov (202) 493-3025 Infrastructure Materials Team
Small Business Innovation Research Craig Thor craig.thor@dot.gov (202) 493-3338 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Small Business Innovation Research Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
State Planning and Research (SPR) Part II Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Steel Bridge Research Justin Ocel justin.ocel@dot.gov (202) 493-3080 Bridge Engineering Team
Steel Bridge Research and Development Justin Ocel justin.ocel@dot.gov (202) 493-3080 Bridge Engineering Team
Strategic Plan/Performance Measures (Research, Development, and Technology) Beth Yumlu beth.yumlu@dot.gov (202) 493-3316 Program Management
Structural Concrete Zachary Haber zachary.haber@dot.gov (202) 493-3469 Bridge Engineering Team
Structures - Timber Sheila R Duwadi sheila.duwadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3106 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team
Structures Laboratory Zachary Haber zachary.haber@dot.gov (202) 493-3469 Bridge Engineering Team
Systems Engineering Implementation Gene M McHale gene.mchale@dot.gov (202) 493-3275 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Technology Transfer Mary Huie mary.huie@dot.gov (202) 493-3460 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Timber Bridges Sheila R Duwadi sheila.duwadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3106 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team
Traffic Data Collection Research and Development Deborah M Walker deborah.walker@dot.gov (202) 493-3068 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Traffic Estimation and Prediction System Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Traffic Flow Theory Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Traffic Management Center Automation and Artificial Intelligence Application Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Traffic Management Systems and Centers Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Traffic Model Validation/Verification Gene M McHale gene.mchale@dot.gov (202) 493-3275 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Traffic Signal Control Research Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Transportation Pooled Fund Program Management David Pamplin david.pamplin@dot.gov (202) 493-3166 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Transportation Pooled Fund Program Management Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Transportation Systems Management and Operations Programs, Policies, and Plans Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Travel Management for Planned Special Events Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Truck Size and Weight Freight Operations and Technology Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center Facility Tours TaMara McCrae tamara.mccrae@dot.gov (202) 493-3382 Marketing and Communications Team
Ultra-High Performance Concrete (UHPC) R&D Benjamin A (Ben) Graybeal benjamin.graybeal@dot.gov (202) 493-3122 Bridge Engineering Team
University Transportation Centers (UTC) Liaison David Kuehn david.kuehn@dot.gov (202) 493-3414 Exploratory Advanced Research Team
University Transportation Centers (UTC) Liaison John Moulden john.moulden@dot.gov (202) 493-3470 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Vehicle Classification Deborah M Walker deborah.walker@dot.gov (202) 493-3068 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Vehicle-Highway Automation Research and Development Carl K Andersen carl.andersen@dot.gov (202) 493-3045 Technical Direction
Vehicle-Infrastructure Automation Systems Brian Philips brian.philips@dot.gov (202) 493-3468 Human Factors Team
Visibility Human Factors Research and Development Michelle Arnold michelle.arnold@dot.gov (202) 493-3990 Human Factors Team
Waiver of Matching for State Planning and Research (SP&R) Part II Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Web site (Research and Technology; Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center; Exploratory Advanced Research, SharePoint) Dawn Vanlandingham dawn.vanlandingham@dot.gov (202) 493-3198 Marketing and Communications Team
Weigh in Motion (WIM), Measurements and Equipment Research and Development Deborah M Walker deborah.walker@dot.gov (202) 493-3068 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Wildlife Vehicle Crashes Carol H Tan carol.tan@dot.gov (202) 493-3315 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Wood Bridges Sheila R Duwadi sheila.duwadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3106 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team

Pages