You are here

Expertise Directory Search

The expertise of our scientists, engineers, and support staff encompasses more than 100 transportation-related disciplines and expertise areas. The following expertise areas and contacts can be found at the Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center (TFHRC), and offices housed at the research and development facility: the Office of Infrastructure Research and Development, the Office of Operations Research and Development, the Office of Safety Research and Development, and the Office of Corporate Research, Development, and Innovation Management, which supports all three research offices and manages the Exploratory Advanced Research Program. The 20 laboratories and data centers at TFHRC provide a vital resource for advancing the body of knowledge that has been created and developed to solve national transportation goals. If you can’t find your research contact below, try the Roles and Responsibilities search. If you would like to see how our organization is structured, try the Staff Directory.

All media inquiries and interview requests should be directed to the Office of Public Affairs at 202-366-0660.

Export to Excel
Area of Expertise First Name Last Name Email Telephone Office
Large-Scale Testing Zachary Haber zachary.haber@dot.gov (202) 493-3469 Bridge Engineering Team
Local and Rural Road Safety Norah Ocel Norah.Ocel@dot.gov (443) 717-0891 Roadway Team
Localized Bottleneck Reduction Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Long-Term Bridge Performance Program (LTBP) Robert Zobel robert.zobel@dot.gov (202) 493-3024 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) Data Analysis Larry J Wiser larry.wiser@dot.gov (202) 493-3079 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) Materials Testing Jack H Springer jack.springer@dot.gov (202) 493-3144 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) Field Operations Jack H Springer jack.springer@dot.gov (202) 493-3144 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) Pavement Performance Data Collection Jack H Springer jack.springer@dot.gov (202) 493-3144 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) Profile Data Collection Larry J Wiser larry.wiser@dot.gov (202) 493-3079 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance Program (LTPP) Database Yan (Jane) Jiang jane.jiang@dot.gov (202) 493-3149 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance Program (LTPP) Information Management System (IMS) Yan (Jane) Jiang jane.jiang@dot.gov (202) 493-3149 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Long-Term Pavement Performance Program (LTPP) Traffic data collection and Processing Deborah M Walker deborah.walker@dot.gov (202) 493-3068 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Managed Lanes Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Model Minimum Inventory of Roadway Elements (MMIRE) Carol H Tan carol.tan@dot.gov (202) 493-3315 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Motorcycle Crash Causation Study Carol H Tan carol.tan@dot.gov (202) 493-3315 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Nanotechnology David Kuehn david.kuehn@dot.gov (202) 493-3414 Exploratory Advanced Research Team
Nanotechnology Jonathon Porter jonathan.porter@dot.gov (202) 493-3038 Program Management
National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP) Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP) Jean Landolt jean.landolt@dot.gov (202) 493-3146 Program Management
National Research and Technology Partnerships Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
National Research and Technology Partnerships John Moulden john.moulden@dot.gov (202) 493-3470 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Nondestructive Evaluation and Testing R&D Hoda Azari hoda.azari@dot.gov (202) 493-3064 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team
Operations Research and Development Technology Facilitation Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Pavement Design and Analysis Research and Development Katherine A Petros katherine.petros@dot.gov (202) 493-3154 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team
Pavement Research and Development David Mensching david.mensching@dot.gov (202) 493-3232 Infrastructure Materials Team
Pavement Research and Development Katherine A Petros katherine.petros@dot.gov (202) 493-3154 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team
Pavement Smoothness and Texture Research and Development Larry J Wiser larry.wiser@dot.gov (202) 493-3079 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Pavement Surface Characteristics Larry J Wiser larry.wiser@dot.gov (202) 493-3079 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Research and Development Ann Do ann.do@dot.gov (202) 493-3319 Human Factors Team
Planning for Operations Govindarajan Vadakpat g.vadakpat@dot.gov (202) 493-3283 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Portland Cement Concrete Materials Research and Development Ahmad Ardani ahmad.ardani@dot.gov (202) 493-3422 Infrastructure Materials Team
Public Roads Lisa A. Shuler lisa.a.shuler@dot.gov (202) 493-3375 Marketing and Communications Team
Public Roads Maria Romstedt maria.romstedt@dot.gov (202) 493-3432 Marketing and Communications Team
Publishing Copyrights and Reprint Permissions (Research, Development, and Technology) Dawn Vanlandingham dawn.vanlandingham@dot.gov (202) 493-3198 Marketing and Communications Team
Ramp Metering Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Real-time Transportation Information Management Gene M McHale gene.mchale@dot.gov (202) 493-3275 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Recycling Materials for Pavements Research and Development David Mensching david.mensching@dot.gov (202) 493-3232 Infrastructure Materials Team
Recycling Materials for Pavements Research and Development John S (Jack) Youtcheff, Jr. jack.youtcheff@dot.gov (202) 493-3090 Infrastructure Materials Team
Research Advisory Committee (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)) Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Research Advisory Committee (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)) Shana Baker shana.baker@dot.gov (202) 493-3181 Program Management
Research and Development Legislation Craig Thor craig.thor@dot.gov (202) 493-3338 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Research and Development Legislation Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Research and Technology Coordinating Committee Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Research and Technology Coordinating Committee John Moulden john.moulden@dot.gov (202) 493-3470 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Research and Technology Coordinating Committee Shana Baker shana.baker@dot.gov (202) 493-3181 Program Management
Research and Technology Corporate Master Plan Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Research and Technology Corporate Master Plan John Moulden john.moulden@dot.gov (202) 493-3470 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Research and Technology Corporate Master Plan Shana Baker shana.baker@dot.gov (202) 493-3181 Program Management
Research and Technology Product Distribution Center (Report Center) TaMara McCrae tamara.mccrae@dot.gov (202) 493-3382 Marketing and Communications Team

Pages