You are here

Expertise Directory Search

The expertise of our scientists, engineers, and support staff encompasses more than 100 transportation-related disciplines and expertise areas. The following expertise areas and contacts can be found at the Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center (TFHRC), and offices housed at the research and development facility: the Office of Infrastructure Research and Development, the Office of Operations Research and Development, the Office of Safety Research and Development, and the Office of Corporate Research, Development, and Innovation Management, which supports all three research offices and manages the Exploratory Advanced Research Program. The 20 laboratories and data centers at TFHRC provide a vital resource for advancing the body of knowledge that has been created and developed to solve national transportation goals. If you can’t find your research contact below, try the Roles and Responsibilities search. If you would like to see how our organization is structured, try the Staff Directory.

All media inquiries and interview requests should be directed to the Office of Public Affairs at 202-366-0660.

Export to Excel
Area of Expertise First Name Last Name Email Telephone Office
Durability of Cement-based materials Robert Spragg robert.spragg@dot.gov (202) 493-3233 Bridge Engineering Team
Dynamic Ramp Metering Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Dynamic Traffic Assignment Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Dynamic Traffic Demand (O-D) Estimation Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Environmental Impact of Connected Vehicles Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Evaluation of Low Cost Safety Improvements Roya Amjadi roya.amjadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3383 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Exhibits Research and Technology TaMara McCrae tamara.mccrae@dot.gov (202) 493-3382 Marketing and Communications Team
Exploratory Advanced Research David Kuehn david.kuehn@dot.gov (202) 493-3414 Exploratory Advanced Research Team
Exploratory Advanced Research information collection and surveys Zachary Ellis zachary.ellis@dot.gov (202) 493-3193 Exploratory Advanced Research Team
Exploratory Advanced Research Marketing and Communications Zachary Ellis zachary.ellis@dot.gov (202) 493-3193 Exploratory Advanced Research Team
Federal Highway Administration R&T Now Newsletter Kelley Elliott kelley.elliott@dot.gov (202) 493-3220 Marketing and Communications Team
Federal Highway Administration Research Library Dawn Vanlandingham dawn.vanlandingham@dot.gov (202) 493-3198 Marketing and Communications Team
Federal Outdoor Impact Laboratory (FOIL) Eduardo Arispe eduardo.arispe@dot.gov (202) 493-3291 Roadway Team
FHWA Research Library Dawn Vanlandingham dawn.vanlandingham@dot.gov (202) 493-3198 Marketing and Communications Team
Freeway and Traffic Signal Systems Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Freeway Improvement Projects and Bottleneck Mitigation Strategies Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Freeway Traffic Management and Operations Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Freight Performance Measurement Gene M McHale gene.mchale@dot.gov (202) 493-3275 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Freight Professional Development Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Freight Professional Development Research and Development Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Coordination Carol H Tan carol.tan@dot.gov (202) 493-3315 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Geosynthetic Reinforced Soil (GRS) Structures Research and Development Michael Adams mike.adams@dot.gov (202) 493-3025 Infrastructure Materials Team
Geotechnical Engineering Research and Development Jennifer E Nicks jennifer.nicks@dot.gov (202) 493-3075 Bridge Engineering Team
Geotechnical Engineering Research and Development Michael Adams mike.adams@dot.gov (202) 493-3025 Infrastructure Materials Team
Hardware-in-the-Loop Simulation for Connected Vehicle Studies Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Highway Safety Information System Ana Eigen ana.eigen@dot.gov (202) 493-3260 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Highway Safety Information System Carol H Tan carol.tan@dot.gov (202) 493-3315 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Highway Safety Manual Norah Ocel Norah.Ocel@dot.gov (443) 717-0891 Roadway Team
Highway Safety Manual Shyuan-Ren (Clayton) Chen clayton.chen@dot.gov (202) 493-3054 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Historic Covered Bridges Sheila R Duwadi sheila.duwadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3106 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team
HSIS (Highway Safety Information System) Ana Eigen ana.eigen@dot.gov (202) 493-3260 Safety Data and Analysis Team
HSIS (Highway Safety Information System) Carol H Tan carol.tan@dot.gov (202) 493-3315 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Human Factors Guidelines Brian Philips brian.philips@dot.gov (202) 493-3468 Human Factors Team
Hydraulics Research and Development Kornel Kerenyi kornel.kerenyi@dot.gov (202) 493-3142 Bridge Engineering Team
Hydrodynamics Research and Development Kornel Kerenyi kornel.kerenyi@dot.gov (202) 493-3142 Bridge Engineering Team
Infrastructure-based Intersection Collision Avoidance Systems Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Infrastructure-based Intersection Collision Avoidance Systems - Human Factors Gregory W (Greg) Davis gregory.davis@dot.gov (202) 493-3367 Roadway Team
Innovative Intersection/Interchange Designs Wei Zhang wei.zhang@dot.gov (202) 493-3317 Roadway Team
Innovative Materials in Highway Bridge Systems Zachary Haber zachary.haber@dot.gov (202) 493-3469 Bridge Engineering Team
Integration of Connected Vehicles and Traveler Data Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Intellectual Property Rights and Scientific Review Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Intellectual Property Rights and Scientific Review Mary Huie mary.huie@dot.gov (202) 493-3460 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Standards Deployment Mohammed Yousuf mohammed.yousuf@dot.gov (202) 493-3199 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Work Zones Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Advanced Safety Research Gregory W (Greg) Davis gregory.davis@dot.gov (202) 493-3367 Roadway Team
Intelligent Vehicle-Infrastructure Gene M McHale gene.mchale@dot.gov (202) 493-3275 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Interactive Highway Safety Design Model Research and Development (IHSDM) Norah Ocel Norah.Ocel@dot.gov (443) 717-0891 Roadway Team
Interactive Highway Safety Design Model Research and Development (IHSDM) Shyuan-Ren (Clayton) Chen clayton.chen@dot.gov (202) 493-3054 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Internal Curing of Cement-based materials Robert Spragg robert.spragg@dot.gov (202) 493-3233 Bridge Engineering Team
Intersection Collision Avoidance Research Gregory W (Greg) Davis gregory.davis@dot.gov (202) 493-3367 Roadway Team

Pages