You are here

Expertise Directory Search

The expertise of our scientists, engineers, and support staff encompasses more than 100 transportation-related disciplines and expertise areas. The following expertise areas and contacts can be found at the Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center (TFHRC), and offices housed at the research and development facility: the Office of Infrastructure Research and Development, the Office of Operations Research and Development, the Office of Safety Research and Development, and the Office of Corporate Research, Development, and Innovation Management, which supports all three research offices and manages the Exploratory Advanced Research Program. The 16 laboratories and data centers at TFHRC provide a vital resource for advancing the body of knowledge that has been created and developed to solve national transportation goals. If you can’t find your research contact below, try the Roles and Responsibilities search. If you would like to see how our organization is structured, try the Staff Directory.

All media inquiries and interview requests should be directed to the Office of Public Affairs at 202-366-0660.

Export to Excel
Area of Expertise First Name Last Name Emailsort descending Telephone Office
Traffic Signal Control Research Laura Mero Laura.Mero@dot.gov (202) 493-3377 Human Factors Team
Communications Research and Technology Lisa A. Shuler lisa.a.shuler@dot.gov (202) 493-3375 Marketing and Communications Team
Public Roads Lisa A. Shuler lisa.a.shuler@dot.gov (202) 493-3375 Marketing and Communications Team
Public Roads Maria Romstedt maria.romstedt@dot.gov (202) 493-3432 Marketing and Communications Team
Intellectual Property Rights and Scientific Review Mary Huie mary.huie@dot.gov (202) 493-3460 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Technology Transfer Mary Huie mary.huie@dot.gov (202) 493-3460 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Visibility Human Factors Research and Development Michelle Arnold michelle.arnold@dot.gov (202) 493-3990 Human Factors Team
Geotechnical Engineering Research and Development Michael Adams mike.adams@dot.gov (202) 493-3025 Infrastructure Materials Team
Shallow Foundation Research and Development Michael Adams mike.adams@dot.gov (202) 493-3025 Infrastructure Materials Team
Geosynthetic Reinforced Soil (GRS) Structures Research and Development Michael Adams mike.adams@dot.gov (202) 493-3025 Infrastructure Materials Team
Automated Highway System Mohamadreza Banihashemi mohamadreza.banihashemi.CTR@dot.gov (202) 493-3334 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Big Data Analysis and Visualization Mohamadreza Banihashemi mohamadreza.banihashemi.CTR@dot.gov (202) 493-3334 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Connected Vehicles Research and Development Mohamadreza Banihashemi mohamadreza.banihashemi.CTR@dot.gov (202) 493-3334 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Chemistry Nusnin Akter nusnin.akter@dot.gov Infrastructure Materials Team
Transportation Pooled Fund Program Management Patricia Sergeson patricia.sergeson@dot.gov (202) 493-3166 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Traffic Management Center Automation and Artificial Intelligence Application Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Artificial Intelligence Applications in ITS Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Dynamic Traffic Demand (O-D) Estimation Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Environmental Impact of Connected Vehicles Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Hardware-in-the-Loop Simulation for Connected Vehicle Studies Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Infrastructure-based Intersection Collision Avoidance Systems Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Work Zones Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Bridge Engineering Ping Lu ping.lu@dot.gov (202) 493-3143 Infrastructure Analysis and Construction Team
Traffic Flow Theory Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Traffic Signal Control Research Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Dynamic Traffic Assignment Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Freight Professional Development Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Localized Bottleneck Reduction Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Operations Research and Development Technology Facilitation Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Saxton Transportation Operations Laboratory (TOL) Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Traffic Estimation and Prediction System Randy VanGorder randall.vangorder@dot.gov (202) 493-3266 Technical Direction
Aggregates Richard C (Rick) Meininger richard.meininger@dot.gov (202) 493-3191 Infrastructure Materials Team
Concrete Materials Research and Development Robert Spragg robert.spragg@dot.gov (202) 493-3233 Infrastructure Materials Team
Durability of Cement-based materials Robert Spragg robert.spragg@dot.gov (202) 493-3233 Infrastructure Materials Team
Internal Curing of Cement-based materials Robert Spragg robert.spragg@dot.gov (202) 493-3233 Infrastructure Materials Team
Resistivity and Formation Factor Testing Robert Spragg robert.spragg@dot.gov (202) 493-3233 Infrastructure Materials Team
Long-Term Bridge Performance Program (LTBP) Robert Zobel robert.zobel@dot.gov (202) 493-3024 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Crash Data Analysis Roya Amjadi roya.amjadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3383 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Evaluation of Low Cost Safety Improvements Roya Amjadi roya.amjadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3383 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Communications Research and Technology Shana Baker shana.baker@dot.gov (202) 493-3181 Program Management
Research Advisory Committee (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)) Shana Baker shana.baker@dot.gov (202) 493-3181 Program Management
Research and Technology Coordinating Committee Shana Baker shana.baker@dot.gov (202) 493-3181 Program Management
Research and Technology Corporate Master Plan Shana Baker shana.baker@dot.gov (202) 493-3181 Program Management
Exhibits Research and Technology TaMara McCrae tamara.mccrae@dot.gov (202) 493-3382 Marketing and Communications Team
Research and Technology Product Distribution Center (Report Center) TaMara McCrae tamara.mccrae@dot.gov (202) 493-3382 Marketing and Communications Team
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center Facility Tours TaMara McCrae tamara.mccrae@dot.gov (202) 493-3382 Marketing and Communications Team
Automated Highway System Taylor Lochrane taylor.lochrane@dot.gov (202) 493-3293 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Cooperative Intersection Collision Avoidance Systems Taylor Lochrane taylor.lochrane@dot.gov (202) 493-3293 Transportation Enabling Technologies Team
Asphalt Chemistry Research and Development Terry Arnold terry.arnold@dot.gov (202) 493-3305 Infrastructure Materials Team

Pages