You are here

Expertise Directory Search

The expertise of our scientists, engineers, and support staff encompasses more than 100 transportation-related disciplines and expertise areas. The following expertise areas and contacts can be found at the Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center (TFHRC), and offices housed at the research and development facility: the Office of Infrastructure Research and Development, the Office of Operations Research and Development, the Office of Safety Research and Development, and the Office of Corporate Research, Development, and Innovation Management, which supports all three research offices and manages the Exploratory Advanced Research Program. The 20 laboratories and data centers at TFHRC provide a vital resource for advancing the body of knowledge that has been created and developed to solve national transportation goals. If you can’t find your research contact below, try the Roles and Responsibilities search. If you would like to see how our organization is structured, try the Staff Directory.

All media inquiries and interview requests should be directed to the Office of Public Affairs at 202-366-0660.

Export to Excel
Area of Expertise First Name Last Name Email Telephone Office
Accelerated Construction Research and Development Katherine A Petros katherine.petros@dot.gov (202) 493-3154 Asset Management and Construction Team
Active Traffic Management and Traffic Management Centers Brian Philips brian.philips@dot.gov (202) 493-3468 Human Factors Team
Active Transportation and Demand Management Joe Bared joe.bared@dot.gov (202) 493-3314 Transportation Operations Concepts and Analysis Team
Active Transportation and Demand Management Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Enabling Technology Team
Adaptive Signal Control Research Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Adaptive Signal Control Research Govindarajan Vadakpat g.vadakpat@dot.gov (202) 493-3283 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Administration of Federal Highway Administration State Planning and Research, Part II Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Administration of Federal Highway Administration State Planning and Research, Part II Sidney Stecker sidney.stecker@dot.gov (202) 493-3044 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
Advanced Sensor and Communications Technologies Gregory W (Greg) Davis gregory.davis@dot.gov (202) 493-3367 Roadway Team
Advanced Vehicle Control Systems Robert A (Bob) Ferlis robert.ferlis@dot.gov (202) 493-3268
Aerodynamics Harold Bosch harold.bosch@dot.gov (202) 493-3031 Bridges and Structures Team
Aggregates Richard C (Rick) Meininger richard.meininger@dot.gov (202) 493-3191 Infrastructure Materials Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Research Advisory Committee (RAC) Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Research Advisory Committee (RAC) John Moulden john.moulden@dot.gov (202) 493-3470 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Research Advisory Committee (RAC) Sidney Stecker sidney.stecker@dot.gov (202) 493-3044 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Standing Committee on Research (SCOR) Carl K Andersen carl.andersen@dot.gov (202) 493-3045 Program Management
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Standing Committee on Research (SCOR) Jack D Jernigan jack.jernigan@dot.gov (202) 493-3363 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Standing Committee on Research (SCOR) John Moulden john.moulden@dot.gov (202) 493-3470 Research and Technology Program Development and Partnership Team
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Highway Subcommittee on Materials (SOM) Jack H Springer jack.springer@dot.gov (202) 493-3144 Long-Term Infrastructure Performance Team
Arterial Management Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Arterial Simulation Gene M McHale gene.mchale@dot.gov (202) 493-3275 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Artificial Intelligence Applications in ITS Peter Huang peter.huang@dot.gov (202) 493-3484 Transportation Operations Concepts and Analysis Team
Asphalt Chemistry Research and Development Jack Youtcheff jack.youtcheff@dot.gov (202) 493-3090 Infrastructure Materials Team
Asphalt Chemistry Research and Development Terry Arnold terry.arnold@dot.gov (202) 493-3305 Infrastructure Materials Team
Asphalt Materials Research and Development Jack Youtcheff jack.youtcheff@dot.gov (202) 493-3090 Infrastructure Materials Team
Automated Highway System Robert A (Bob) Ferlis robert.ferlis@dot.gov (202) 493-3268
Bicycle Safety Research Ann Do ann.do@dot.gov (202) 493-3319 Human Factors Team
Big Data Analysis and Visualization Wei Zhang wei.zhang@dot.gov (202) 493-3317 Roadway Team
Bridge Aerodynamics Harold Bosch harold.bosch@dot.gov (202) 493-3031 Bridges and Structures Team
Bridge Engineering Zachary Haber zachary.haber@dot.gov (202) 493-3469 Bridges and Structures Team
Bridge Safety and Security Research and Development Sheila R Duwadi sheila.duwadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3106 Asset Management and Construction Team
Bridge Scour Research and Development Kornel Kerenyi kornel.kerenyi@dot.gov (202) 493-3142 Bridges and Structures Team
Chemistry Jack Youtcheff jack.youtcheff@dot.gov (202) 493-3090 Infrastructure Materials Team
Chemistry Terry Arnold terry.arnold@dot.gov (202) 493-3305 Infrastructure Materials Team
Chief Scientist: Research, Development, and Technology Jonathon Porter jonathan.porter@dot.gov (202) 493-3038 Program Management
Communications Research and Technology Lisa A. Shuler lisa.a.shuler@dot.gov (202) 493-3375 Marketing and Communications Team
Concrete Materials Research and Development Ahmad Ardani ahmad.ardani@dot.gov (202) 493-3422 Infrastructure Materials Team
Congestion Management and Pricing Taylor Lochrane taylor.lochrane@dot.gov (202) 493-3293 Transportation Operations Concepts and Analysis Team
Connected Vehicles Research and Development Brian Philips brian.philips@dot.gov (202) 493-3468 Human Factors Team
Connected Vehicles Research and Development Govindarajan Vadakpat g.vadakpat@dot.gov (202) 493-3283 Transportation Operations Applications Team
Construction Quality Assurance/Quality Control Katherine A Petros katherine.petros@dot.gov (202) 493-3154 Asset Management and Construction Team
Cooperative Intersection Collision Avoidance Systems Gregory W (Greg) Davis gregory.davis@dot.gov (202) 493-3367 Roadway Team
Corridor Traffic Management Jon Obenberger jon.obenberger@dot.gov (202) 493-3265 Transportation Enabling Technology Team
Crash Data Analysis Ana Eigen ana.eigen@dot.gov (202) 493-3260 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Crash Data Analysis Roya Amjadi roya.amjadi@dot.gov (202) 493-3383 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Culvert Research and Development Kornel Kerenyi kornel.kerenyi@dot.gov (202) 493-3142 Bridges and Structures Team
Data Analysis Research and Development Carol H Tan carol.tan@dot.gov (202) 493-3315 Safety Data and Analysis Team
Driver Behavior and Decisionmaking Brian Philips brian.philips@dot.gov (202) 493-3468 Human Factors Team
Driver Distraction and Attention Brian Philips brian.philips@dot.gov (202) 493-3468 Human Factors Team
Dynamic Ramp Metering Deborah M Curtis deborah.curtis@dot.gov (202) 493-3267 Transportation Operations Applications Team

Pages